16
Nov
09

I pray I never find out….

I was sitting in a friend of mines office today, the look on his face was of a man who is weary. I can say that if I were him I would be more than weary.

I asked him what was up. He asked me to shut the door to his office.

As I sat down, tears started streaming down his face.

He was quiet for a few awkward seconds. When he wiped his eyes and started talking I wasn’t sure what to expect.

My friend has been dealing with quiet a bit in the past couple of years with his health, his father’s health, and his wife’s health.

“Linda and I were talking this weekend and she told me that the average life expectancy of someone with the type of cancer she has is only two to five years. It’s been two years now.”

His wife has been battling cancer for the last two years, unfortunately it is battle she will lose. The type of cancer she has is inoperable and incurable, chemotherapy will stop the growth but won’t completely kill it. Her bowels are so engulfed with the cancer that it will likely cause an inoperable bowel obstruction. A bowl of noodles, I think is the phrase she used when telling me what her doctor said.

My friend is trying to face the reality of losing his best friend, his lover, his soul mate, to a very painful death and in his mind it could come at any moment and there is nothing, not a thing he can do about it. My friend’s wife is upbeat most days, I think she has accepted things as they are.

Yes, death will come to us all, and yes it can happen at any moment. The hard part is knowing the time frame and how it will come.

When I left his office all I could think about is my wife, and what I would do if I were in his position.

I pray that I never find out….

 

0 Responses to “I pray I never find out….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

